Using Live Layers and need to Transfer your notes to a new revision? No problem!

NOTE: Live Layers is a powerful new feature which allows Team and Team Studio users to instantly share layers within their team.
You and your team have been using Live Layers to instantly share layers within your team. Now, your team has received a revised draft...

The most important thing to remember is that Live Layers Groups have to be re-established with every transfer.

Some Background...

First, it's important to understand that there are three different types of Layers.

Private: A layer that is not shared with anyone.

Owned: A layer that you originate and share with your Layer Group. You control the content and when the layer is shared.

Received: A layer that you receive from a team member within your Layer Group. Your teammate controls the content and when the layer is shared. This is a read-only Layer.

Layers Menu

What do I do first?

When performing the Note Transfer, it is important that each team member know that they are responsible for transferring their Owned and Private layers to the new document, NOT Live Layers they have received.

NOTE: Live Layers that you have Received, will be shared again by your collaborators in the next step.
Transfer Annotation Selection Menu

Ok, my transfer is complete. Now what?

Now, all you need to do is recreate a new Live Layers Group in your revised draft to begin collaborating right where you left off.

Toggle on Live Layers, create or join a Group, and begin sharing and receiving layers in the new draft!

This article goes though Creating a Layer Group & Joining an existing Layer Group as well as Sharing an Owned Layer & Receiving a Layer.

TIP: Live Layers only shares notes on native script pages.

What's Next

What are Live Layers, and how do I get setup?
Uses and Tips for Live Layers
How to Show/Hide Layers
Was this article helpful?
Cancel
Thank you!