Bring a new dimension to your workflow with layered annotations.

Want to separate notes based on meetings? Or share thoughts with your department? Have notes you want to keep personal? Scriptation’s Layers makes it easy to toggle between your notes.

Scriptation 4.2 introduces a completely overhauled Layers system that makes working with Layers up to 5x faster, and brings you new features to make Layers work better for you.
In this article we will go through the basics of layers including:

Adding a Layer
Duplicating a Layer
Renaming a Layer
Deleting a Layer

Start by tapping the Layers icon on the Top Menu.


This will open the Layers Menu.

In the Layers menu, there are three possible Layer states:

Active - Layers where you can create and edit annotations. They are denoted with bolded text and the pencil icon, and always displayed at 100%.
Visible Background - Layers where you can view annotations. They are denoted with a switch that is toggled on, and displayed at the opacity you set.
Hidden Background - Layers that are hidden. They are denoted with a switch that is toggled off.


TIP: Learn more about setting visible background layer opacity here

Adding Layers

Tap the + Add Layer button, at the bottom of the My Layers section of the Layer Menu.


Name your New Layer, and tap Save to create.



Duplicating Layers

Starting in Version 4.2, once a layer is created, you can make a full copy of that layer and all of the annotations on it.

Start by tapping Layers on the Top Toolbar.

Tap the ... next to the name of the layer you wish to duplicate, and tap Duplicate.


That’s it! Your duplicated layer will appear at the bottom of the list of My Layers.


TIP: Scriptation automatically adds 2 to the end of the name of the duplicated layer. It will add a 3 if you duplicate again, and so on…

Renaming Layers

Tap the ... next to the layer name you wish to change, and tap Rename.


Rename your Layer, and tap Rename to save..



Deleting Layers

Tap the ... next to the layer name you wish to delete, and tap Delete.


Confirm you want to delete your layer by tapping Delete


NOTE: Deleting a layer cannot be undone.

What's Next?

What are Live Layers?
How to Export Layers
How to Show/Hide Layers
Was this article helpful?
Cancel
Thank you!