I have a conflicted version. What do I do now?



What happened?

A "conflicted" copy is most commonly created under these three circumstances.

When two devices make changes to a file simultaneously
When a file is left open on one device, and then edited on another
When the cloud provider experiences a temporary sync issue and does not properly sync changes

In all of these cases, when a file uploads back to a cloud service, two copies will not match, and both versions are saved separately.

What do I do now?

The best way to resolve a conflicted copy is to compare the original and the conflicted versions manually, and see which has your latest set of notes. Then, use that file moving forward.

TIP: The last version saved will always appear as the conflicted copy.

How do I prevent a conflicted copy from happening again?

Working on your own? Click here.

Sharing files with a team? Click here.

If you regularly experience conflicted copies, the guaranteed way to avoid a conflicted copy is to move your file out of its cloud folder while you are actively working. Then, once you're done editing, you can move the file back into its original location.

TIP: We highly recommend using Dropbox, Google Drive, or OneDrive for syncing files across multiple active devices. iCloud is not recommended.

What's Next

Many people on my show use Scriptation. Should we get Scriptation Team?
How do I export my entire script?
How often do files upload / sync to cloud?
Was this article helpful?
Cancel
Thank you!