Master Edit Mode (a.k.a DEBUG).

Scriptation does not allow you to reorder and delete script pages by default. We rely on script pages being in the correct order so our note transferring algorithms can work effectively. However, we offer Master Edit Mode (a.k.a. DEBUG) that allows for page adjustments in certain circumstances.

Before learning how to use DEBUG, it's helpful to first know how Scriptation understands Pages. There are two kinds of Pages:

Native: These are the official script pages, in their imported order.
Inserted / Added: These are pages that you've created manually. Such as Facing Pages, Sides, and pages which were Copied/Pasted.

Master Edit Mode can be used when:

You need to reorder pages. Perhaps just prior to showtime your producers rearrange scenes/acts. NOTE: If you reorder the script, the next Note Transfer likely won’t work properly. Here's why.

You need to delete pages. Perhaps your script was imported with blank / extra pages, or you have duplicate native pages. NOTE: If you delete script pages through Master Edit Mode, the next Note Transfer may not work properly.

TIP: If you are looking to delete pages because you have revised pages, learn more about Collate Pages - which will integrate your new pages, transfer the annotations, and automatically delete the old pages.

Pages somehow got mismarked. Very rarely, inserted pages can get mismarked as native script pages, and vice versa. With Master Edit Mode, you can correct the page assignment as Native vs. Added.

To enable Master Edit Mode:

Start by tapping the File Browser.



At the bottom of the window, tap Settings.



Under the Author Name heading, tap change the name to DEBUG (case sensitive). Tap Save.



You'll be prompted with a dialogue box to confirm that you are Unlocking Master Edit. Tap Yes.



Now tap the Page Maker icon on the far right of the Top Menu.



Within the Page Maker there is now a new "Master" icon on the top toolbar. Tap Master.



You'll now be presented with instructions for Master Edit Mode. Tap OK to begin working with your pages.

ADDED / INSERTED Pages: Should HAVE a checkmark.
NATIVE SCRIPT Pages: Should NOT HAVE a checkmark. (If they are checked by mistake, tap to uncheck those pages.)

Trying to reorder pages? Make sure that only the pages you need to move have a checkmark.
Trying to delete pages? Make sure that the pages you need to delete have a checkmark.
Correcting mismarkings? Make sure that only the added pages have checkmarks.



When you have selected your checkmarks appropriately, tap Save.

If you are correcting mismarkings - you are complete! (See below for disabling DEBUG mode.) For reordering or deleting pages, read on...

Reordering Pages

From within the Page Maker, tap Edit, and tap and drag your pages around as needed. When you are complete, tap Save.



With your pages in their intended order, go back into Master, and mark any script pages you moved back as Native pages (not checked). Doing this has the highest likelihood for ensuring success with future Note Transfers.

Deleting Pages

From within the Page Maker, tap Edit, and select the black circles on the pages you want to delete. Then tap Remove. When you are complete, tap Save.



To disable Master Edit Mode:

Tap the File Browser. At the bottom of the window, tap Settings.

Then under Master Edit Mode, tap Disable.



What's Next

Will new revision pages automatically be reflected in page color?
Adding custom PDF Facing Pages (i.e. Floor Plan)
How to hyperlink to audio, video, websites, and pages
Was this article helpful?
Cancel
Thank you!